Jose Mourinho waits for Antonio Conte handshake before Manchester United's defeat at Chelsea

Jose Mourinho waits for Antonio Conte handshake before Manchester United's defeat at Chelsea

Mourinho waits patiently for Conte handshake by changing rooms BEFORE kick-off
Antonio Conte and Jose Mourinho shook hands before kick-off on Sunday (Picture: Chelsea TV)

A new video has emerged of Jose Mourinho waiting to greet Antonio ContebeforeManchester United‘s 1-0 defeat at Chelsea at the weekend.

Confirmed: David Moyes named as West Ham manager until the end of the season

Mourinho and Conte stole the headlines following Chelsea’s victory, as the Italian’s wild celebrations at Stamford Bridge meant United’s manager was forced to return to the changing rooms without the traditional handshake.

The Special One confirmed Conte ‘disappeared’ after the final whistle, stating: ‘You want me to go and chase him in the middle of the pitch? I was there. I shook hands with the people who were there.’

Mourinho has been critical of Conte’s behaviour in the past, accusing his counterpart of ‘humiliating’ him in the aftermath of United’s 4-0 thumping at Stamford Bridge last season.

Despite their differences, though, Mourinho was spotted waiting patiently for the ex-Juventus boss outside the changing rooms ahead of kick-off.

The meeting appeared civil but, unsurprisingly, few words were exchanged between the pair.

Chelsea 2017/18 Fixtures

West Brom (A) – Sat 18 Nov
FK Qarabag (A) – Wed Nov 22 (Champions League)
Liverpool (A) – Sat 25 Nov
Swansea (H) – Wed 29 Nov
Newcastle (H) – Sat 2 Dec
Atletico Madrid (H) – Tue 5 Dec (Champions League)
West Ham (A) – Sat 9 Dec

Huddersfield Town (A) – Tues Dec 12
Southampton (H) – Sat Dec 16
Bournemouth (H) – Wed Dec 20 (EFL Cup)
Everton (A) – Sat Dec 23
Brighton (H) – Tues Dec 26
Stoke City (H) – Sat Dec 30

Manchester United 2017/18 Fixtures

Newcastle United (H) – Sat 18 Nov
Basel (A) – Wed 22 Nov (Champions League)
Brighton (H) – Sat 25 Nov
Watford (A) – Tue 28 Nov
Arsenal (A) – Sat Dec 2
CSKA Moscow (H) – Tues Dec 5 (Champions League)
Manchester City (H) – Sun Dec 10
West Bromwich Albion (A) – Sun Dec 17
Bristol City (A) – Wed Dec 20 (EFL Cup)
Leicester City (A) – Sat Dec 23
Burnley (H) – Tues Dec 26
Southampton (H) – Sat Dec 30

Mourinho waits patiently for Conte handshake by changing rooms BEFORE kick-off
Jose Mourinho has been critical of Antonio Conte’s post-match celebrations (Picture: Getty)

Asked if Mourinho could ever be his friend, Conte recently said: ‘Honestly, not now, no. Before, I had a really good relationship with Claudio Ranieri and after the awards for the best coach and the best player at Fifa, we went for a dinner with our wives.

‘But I think it’s very difficult to speak about ‘friendship’ with other coaches because then they become an opponent.

‘You can have respect, for the job and the work, but to speak about friendship is difficult.’

MORE: David Luiz thinks Diego Costa is factor in current spat with Chelsea manager Antonio Conte

Manchester United

Published at Tue, 07 Nov 2017 08:15:00 +0000

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*